
Weathering the Storm



Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors
Licensed contractor . . . It’s the Law!

“Hurricane season and other extreme weather events bring the potential for devastating property
damage. Unlicensed contractors often solicit work after a storm to take advantage of consumers 
who need repairs. The Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors is here to help consumers 
recognize fraudulent contractors and take the necessary steps to protect themselves.”
- Brad Hassert, Executive Director

For more information, visit our website at www.lslbc.gov.

http://www.lacontractor.org/


“Lightning never strikes the same place twice” . . . or does it? 

Check out your contractor!

Remember, a contractor must be licensed or registered to bid, 
contract and/or perform work in the state of Louisiana!

Three Ways to Verify Licensure:
1. Search online at www.lslbc.gov;
2. Download our new LSLBC mobile app here; or
3. Text-to-Verify at toll free 1-855-999-7896. For more 

information about our Text-to-Verify, click here.

Don’t Become a Victim Twice

http://www.lslbc.louisiana.gov/mobile-app/
http://www.lslbc.louisiana.gov/mobile-app/


Hiring a Louisiana licensed or registered contractor?

• Get the contractor’s name, business address, and their license or registration
number

• Verify the license or registration number with the Louisiana State Licensing Board 
for Contractors

• Get at least three bids for the project prior to selecting a contractor
• Require proof of active general liability insurance and worker’s compensation 
• Require a written contract signed by both parties (consumer and contractor) and 

agree upon:
 the estimated dates of start and completion of the project;
 a description of the work to be performed; and
 the total dollar amount to be paid to the contractor upon completion of work

• Never pay a large downpayment 
• Never pay for construction not yet completed



Contractors must be registered and/or licensed in Louisiana before bidding, contracting and/or performing work in Louisiana.
All amounts include cost of materials and labor.

HOME IMPROVEMENT REGISTRA TION
Required for home improvement projects with a value exceeding $7,500 but not in excess of
$75,000; proof of general liability insurance and workers’ compensation coverage required

RESIDENTIAL BUILDER LICENSE
Required for new residential construction projects or home improvement projects with a value 
exceeding $75,000

MOLD REMEDIA TION LICENSE
Required for mold remediation projects with a value of $7,500 or more

COMMERCIAL LICENSE
Required on commercial projects with a value of $50,000 or more - except for electrical, mechanical, 
and plumbing work, which requires a license for projects with a value exceeding $10,000, and 
hazardous materials work with a value of $1.00 or more.

When is a contractor’s registration or license required?



Avoid costly delays
and legal issues
The Louisiana State Licensing Board for 
Contractors has the authority to place a STOP 
WORK order on your jobsite or project if you 
hire unlicensed contractors or subcontractors.

REMEMBER: Substantial monetary 
penalties can be levied against 
unlicensed, unregistered, and fraudulent 
contractors.



Our compliance team is ready. Are you?
Need to file a complaint?

• Website - go to www.lslbc.gov and file an online complaint form; or
• Email - email your complaint to complaints@lslbc.gov 

http://www.lslbc.gov/
mailto:complaints@lslbc.louisiana.gov


Obtain an application 
for contracting in 

Louisiana by 
downloading the 

appropriate form at: 
www.lslbc.gov

http://www.lacontractor.org/

	Slide Number 1
	Slide Number 2
	Slide Number 3
	Hiring a Louisiana licensed or registered contractor?
	When is a contractor’s registration or license required?
	Avoid costly delays �and legal issues
	Slide Number 7
	Slide Number 8

